OR Soccer 2015 Match reports

Pre-Season 6-aside Tournament

On 29 August a group of 8 of the ORAFC squad made their way to Forest School to take part in an invitational 6-aside tournament. 

Having progressed through their group only conceding one goal, the OR side beat a strong Forest School side on penalties in the semi-final. 

With the trophy in their sights, the ORs met Arthurian League Premier League side Old Foresters in the final. The ORs eventually finished runners up following a closely contested 1-0 defeat although Sam Carver was named player of the tournament and was given a bottle of his names sake to commemorate it. 

Success in the tournament bodes well for the ORs maiden season in the Arthurian League. 

OR Squad: Tom O’Brien (Sh 06-11), Richard Offord (SF 02-07) (c), Sam Carver (Sh 04-09), Huw Corcoran (SF 04-09), Fergus Adamson (Sh 02-07), Rob Johns (SF 02-07), Alex Drake (M 02-07) and Tariq Hassan (SF 01-06).


ORAFC v Old Westminster IIs

Saturday 12 September saw the first game of the Arthurian League season saw the ORs make an away trip to JFS School in North London to face Old Westminster IIs. The ORs took all 3 points and finished deserved 4-1 winners.

The ORs settled into the game nicely and took the ascendency midway through the first half following a well taken half volley from Henry Huntingford. Huntingford was denied a second soon after when a headed chance was disallowed.

Spurred by the arrival of a travelling fan, the game opened up in the second half and the ORs doubled their lead early on after the German Harry Kane, Albert Neuendorf (SF 06-11), was brought down in the box.

Huntingford duly converted the spot kick and took his tally for the game to two.

Westminster got a goal back from a set piece but the two goal cushion was quickly restored following Robbie Wilson’s (SF 99-04) thunderous volley from outside the penalty area. A jinxing run and clever finish from Ollie Skailes (C 09-14) sealed the victory for the ORs.

OR Side: Tom O’Brien (Sh 06-11), Oli Kempe (Sh 01-06), Michael Odunsi (SF 10-15), Callum Grier (C 08-13), Louis Winstanley (M 04-09), Tom Howell (Sh 10-15), Richard Offord (SF 02-07) (c), Robbie Wilson (SF 99-04), Henry Huntingford (SF 01-06), Huw Corcoran (SF 04-09), Albert Neuendorf (SF 06-11) and Ollie Skailes (C 09-14).

Richard Offord (SF 02-07)